Don’t let DUI charges ruin your life
Do not speak with anyone until you speak with me.
You only have 15 days to protect your license to drive.
Don’t take chances with the law
12 years former prosecuting experience fighting for your freedoms and rights!!
As a former state prosecuting attorney Troy Leavitt charged numerous DWI offenders and Troy worked hand and hand with law enforcement. Troy even trained the officers in proper report writing.
DWI/DUI offenses are unlike any other criminal violation. It is imperative that you speak with a knowledgeable attorney like Troy.
In an DWI/DUI investigation officers are to properly investigate and record in their report dozens or imperative facts and observations. Just one mistake can make a dramatic difference in the resolution of your case.
Many clients feel that they may not have a valid defense, but regardless of the situations regarding your arrest the is always a chance to keep your record clean.
Don’t simply give up or go with the most inexpensive attorney.
Preparing your case takes time and effort. Not only has Troy received the same NHTSA (National Highway Training Safety Administration) 24 your DWI training as the officer receives. So has two of his paralegals Abby and Rose.
Each of us will review your police reports and each will watch your video a minimum of three times. Once as a YouTube video, once only watching the driver and once only watching the officer.
If an error has been made by law enforcement, we will give you your best chance of catching a break. Don’t feel guilty if you catch a break it is up to law enforcement to do their jobs correctly.
What Can Happen If I Am Found Guilty of Driving While Intoxicated In Missouri?
- You can have to pay a money fine.
- You can go to jail.
- You can lose your license for one year or more.
- You can be required to do community service
- Your car insurance rates will go up.
- You can be forced to buy expensive SR-22 car insurance.
- You can be forced to participate in SATOP (Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program).
- You can be required to install an ignition interlock device in your car.
- If you are found guilty a third time of DWI, you will be facing felony charges with more serious punishments
If I Refused the Physical, Chemical or Blood Test, Will I Lose My Driver’s License in Missouri?
- You do not risk losing your license if you do not submit to the Standard Field Sobriety Tests (SFSTs) or the preliminary breath test (PBT); however, you may lose your license for one year if you do not submit to the breath or blood test that is offered after you are read the implied consent warning (different from the Miranda Warning).
- Most of the time the test that is the one that will make you lose your license is the one that may be administered at a police station; however, some agencies have portable breath instruments that they can administer in the field
- In some circumstances, the refusal of the breath test can be challenged in court and we can negotiate the return of your license if you qualify for a diversion in a select number of counties. It is important that you contact us as soon as possible to make sure that we can review the case and make a recommendation about what to do to try to save your license. We may suggest filing a civil lawsuit to stay the discipline of your privileges and keep you driving while we litigate the case. In some instances, the lawyer for the Department of Revenue (the local prosecutor represents the DOR in refusal cases) may agree to a diversion that will allow your driving record to be as clean as it was before the incident and allow you to not miss a day of driving.
What is SATOP?
- SATOP is the Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program. If your Missouri driver’s license is suspended after a DWI, you will have to complete SATOP before being allowed to drive again (called “reinstated”).
What is an Ignition Interlock Device?
- An ignition interlock device is a breath-testing device that is installed in your car and is connected to the ignition, horn and headlights. In order to drive, you must not have been drinking.
Troy is available when other attorneys are not because life happens outside
the 9-5 workweek. To schedule an appointment, call (816) 228-6000 or
fill out his online form.